bread and some pesto tomato grilled cheese

by abhudson

pesto grilled cheese | via Grow Curious

I picked up this loaf at Trader Joes on a Saturday morning because I was in a carb mood. I opened the noisy artisan sourdough bag and out came this baby, isn’t it beautiful? So, I cut it up and made a grilled cheese. We were celebrating a friend’s birthday that night, and we needed some sustenance.

pesto grilled cheese | via Grow Curious

pesto grilled cheese | via Grow Curious

Pesto, smoked mozzarella and tomato grilled cheese sandwich – a simple Italian twist on a classic. Next time, I’m making the bread and pesto from scratch and using heirloom tomatoes instead. Stay tuned!

RECIPE

Yields one sandwich

2 slices of sourdough bread

4 slices of smoked mozzarella

1 1/2 T of fresh pesto

1/4 sliced tomato

Small amount of butter or olive oil to grill bread.

